New Feature: Pinned it, Did it Wednesday!

Fotor052185732

I am infatuated (ok, obsessed) with Pinterest. How did anyone know how to do anything before this magical website came into existence? I have so many pins and boards representing almost everything life throws at me. Need a recipe with chocolate in it? Done. How do I style my hair with that trendy braid? I know! Baking soda and vinegar will clean that? YES!!

Because I have so many pins and so many things I want to try, I began this new feature to showcase a pin a week and let you know if it succeeded, or if it failed. Maybe I can help YOU!

This week, I made a recipe called Caprese Chicken. In true Dawn fashion, I was missing two ingredients of the recipe, and that was fantastic because I had to improvise! It made me take the recipe I pinned from here, and make it my own.  I was missing the balsamic vinegar and fresh basil.  I will try this recipe exactly as it reads at another time.

 

You need chicken, grape tomatoes (I used tri-color tomatoes), fresh mozzarella cheese, olive oil and a balsamic vinaigrette of your choosing

photo 1

 

Slice your tomatoes in half and put them in a bowl with torn mozzarella cheese, balsamic vinaigrette, salt, pepper and dried basil. Stir and set aside to marinate.

photo 3

 

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.

Heat a pan with 2tbsp olive oil until the oil is shiny and the pan is hot. Season chicken breasts on both sides with salt, pepper and garlic powder. Place chicken in pan and brown (Not cooked through!) on both sides. Once brown, take out of the pan and place on a foil lined baking sheet. Bake chicken until cooked to 165 degrees, approximately 15-20 minutes, depending on thickness of chicken.

photo 2

Place your chicken on your plate and top with your caprese salad. Do not forget to drizzle some of the dressing over the top!

photo 4  photo 5

 

 

There you have Caprese Chicken! My guys loved this recipe. I served it with plain white rice and they gobbled it up!

Give it a try and let me know what you think!

2 thoughts on “New Feature: Pinned it, Did it Wednesday!

  1. This looks like a good one to pin! I think I like caprese anything 🙂 We do just tomatoes and mozzarella quite often with balsamic vinegar.

    Like

    • Oh yes, I’ve done that plenty! I always have balsamic in my house, but I must have run out and forgot to grab some. Thank goodness I had the dressing!

      Like

Leave a Reply

