“Please, Don’t Hate Me.”

writing-101-june-2014-class-badge-2

Writing 101, Day Five: Be Brief

You stumble upon a random letter on the path. You read it. It affects you deeply, and you wish it could be returned to the person to which it’s addressed. Write a story about this encounter.

Today’s twist: Approach this post in as few words as possible.

*** Oh boy!  This is going to be interesting because I LOVE to use words!!  Here we go:

_________________________________________

“…and I am your daughter.  I wish there was a better way to tell you, but you are so angry, this is the only way.  Please, don’t hate me.”

The letter was unsigned.

I stood there staring at the last statement, “Please, don’t hate me.”

How could a parent hate a child for that?  What kind of person takes a letter like this, rips it in half and tosses it on the ground?

Before I could get to the other half, it blew down the street with the yellows and reds of the leaves in the fall breeze.  Someday, the receiver is going to wish they still had this letter.

A tear runs down my pink rouged cheek as I think about the daughter.  Her heartbreak.  The lover who wipes her tears.  And the parent who will never get to see the depth and beauty of her girlfriends love for her daughter.

9 thoughts on ““Please, Don’t Hate Me.”

  1. oh my gosh, this was really well written – i loved the idea and your style of writing! as you asked in the post on the commons, i definitely think that this story is packed with emotion!! you could make it even shorter to add more punch to it ^^

    Like

  2. One thing confused me: She wasn’t able to get the other halöf becasue it was blown down the street. But your last paragraph is telling that the narrator knows what is in that half of the letter?
    Did I get that wrong?

    So now I am goint to answer your question from TheCommons:

    Your post is the most emotional one I have read today.
    I cried. It was heart-wrenching, If you haven’t put enough emotion in your short story, than no one has done that….

    Like

    • First of all, thank you for the compliment! I’m sorry you cried!

      Second, I didnt realize that could be confusing. The other half of the letter had Mom or Dad on it, and the beginning of the story was me finishing the part of the letter I got to read. I see where it was confusing. Thanks for letting me know!

      Like

Leave a Reply

