Most Interesting Person I Met This Year

writing-101-june-2014-class-badge-2

 

Character-Building Experience:

Today, you’ll write about the most interesting person you’ve met in 2014. In your twist, develop and shape your portrait further in a character study.  Today’s twist: Turn your post into a character study.

***This should be interesting!

________________________

3a249a888075795b1316303ba916c6eb

I showed up for my first day at my new job in a new city, with no prejudices and fresh eyes.  I was excited to get moving and started meeting new people and starting this new phase of my life.  Although I was ready to work, work was not ready for me.  I sat for over an hour waiting for someone to show up to show me the ropes.

That someone came in with a smile and the biggest apology I have ever heard in my life.   Her sincerity took the sting out of the hour I waited and asked myself if this was indeed the place I wanted to be.  Her welcoming demeanor made me feel at home right away, and I was happy I stayed.

Mary Anne reminds me of the kind of grandmother I would have wanted in my life: sweet, kind, accommodating.  Her passion for her work made me excited and proud to be part of such a unique school.  She has worked with students with intellectual disabilities for a long time and it shows.  No matter what workplace drama came to pass, Mary Anne always kept her focus on the kids and what was in their best interest.  As we look forward to the next school year, I am proud to say that she will be part of our team again.  She is an invaluable asset to our school.

Her eyes are kind; when you speak to her, you can tell she is present in your discussions, always.  Her short, stocky stature makes you want to protect her, and it is easy to do because she would do the same for you.  Some stories she tells of her children can break your heart, because you can see that she wears her emotions in her eyes.  There is more pain behind them than she lets on, and she seems concerned about something or someone all the time.  When she is happy, her smile is infectious!  Even this kids get excited to see her smile, because we are all happy when she is happy.

In a time when society is a negative place and kindness is often mistaken for being under-handed or untrustworthy, Mary Anne is a diamond in the rough.  She remembers everyone’s birthday, their struggles they spoke of the day before and follows up and lets you know that you are appreciated, despite what other people tell or display to you.  She is the person that showed up at my front door with an entire fried chicken dinner and a plant when we first bought our home, to welcome us to the south and to her old neighborhood.  Her unique disposition encourages me to maintain my own sense of positivity, and reminds me that I am not alone.

I am so happy that she was the first face I saw in my new job and that we started together in this new school.  I will always have a place in my heart for her, and she will always be a part of my family.

3 thoughts on “Most Interesting Person I Met This Year

Leave a Reply

