10 Day Blogging Challenge – Day 1 (For Me)

10-day-blog-challenge

I have been very behind in posting lately, and that is simply because I am not taking the time to do it.  But, I am hoping by taking part in the challenge that Sharon’s Book Nook put out a few days ago kicks me in the butt and gets me going!  I am starting this challenge a couple of days behind, but better late than never, I say!  So, I give to you:

DAY 1: 10 THINGS ABOUT ME

  1. I love to read and write. – Lately, it seems as though I enjoy the idea of these things more than partaking in them, but they are a part of me regardless.  They always have been.  I still have steno notebooks full of poems, beginnings of short stories, and ideas just waiting for cultivation.  My GoodReads account has more books listed that I want to read than I have years left in my life, and I love it.  It is just making these things that are such a big desire for me, a part of my every day routine.  I am getting there!
  2. I am more comfortable in my own skin as I approach 40 yrs old than I have ever been. – You hear women talk about finding that sweet spot in life; that age when you accept yourself, flaws and all, regardless of trends or popular opinion.  I notice that I am comfortable with myself, even though I am over weight and not aesthetically pleasing to most.  I don’t care.  I love me, quirks, rolls and all, and no one can tell me to believe otherwise.  There is a sense of calmness in my inner voice now, even though the thought of hitting 40 still is terrifying.
  3. I am at peace with relationships with people who did not live up to my expectations. – Isn’t that the one thing that can ruin a relationship?  You expect people to act a certain way (because you do), and choose to do certain things (because, who does anything else?!).  Holding people to your own expectation of what is “right” is a sure-fire way to kill any friendship or relationship.  I learned that I should enjoy the differences in people, and let people make their own mistakes and live how they choose, without me placing judgement on them for not doing things how I would.  Believe me, this is an ongoing lesson I am learning, but the major relationships in my life are more peaceful to me now.  I may have let some of these relationships go for my own sanity, but I am at peace and still respect and love those people for who they are.
  4. I love to cook. – In fact, when I began this blog, I would post recipes and those would get the largest viewings for that particular week.  I still may post recipes, but not as regularly.  I love cooking for large groups and my small family.  I am always on the hunt for new things to try!
  5. I am a passionate person. – When I feel something, I feel it BIG and, sometimes, my reactions are just as large.  So, if I am angry, happy, silly – I can be larger than life.  I am off-putting to some because they do not know how to take me, and that is all right.  There are those that cannot handle me, and there are those that would not have me any other way.  That is just fine with me.  It took me a while to learn that I do not have to adjust who I am to suit other people.  I figure, I am respectful of people around me,  so there.  I do have a tendency to speak without filter, and I have hurt some people I love in the process, but that is how I learned to dial it back a little bit to be respectful.  Once cannot be a 10 all the time!
  6. I am a recovering reality tv-aholic – Housewives of New Jersey, Atlanta and New York – I loved them all!  The crazy, the drama, the lavishness.  I would watch marathons and wait with much anticipation for the winner of the latest verbal altercation.  I decided to give up on reality tv for a New Year’s resolution.  This has got to be the one and only resolution I am following through with!  Now that I am distancing myself from these programs, I notice just how ridiculous they are.  These are people, regular people, setting up drama in their lives for the sake of a pay check.  Life is way too short for that, and my time is too precious to spend it watching women act like bullies toward one another, instead of helping one another up.  Those shows are fiction in spite of their “reality” title.  Just look at the issues some are having with the law.  That is about as real as it gets.
  7. I am completely, 100% in love with my husband. – He is my rock and my best friend.  He is the only person on this earth who knows every inch of me, inside and out, and loves me no matter what.  We have been friends for 25 years (more than half our lives!), together for 17 years, and married for 15 years.  Highs, lows, laughter, tears – we have seen them all, learned from them and moved on.  Without a doubt, he is one of the most important people in my life.  He is my #1.
  8. My #2 is my son. – My soon-to-be 14yr old ball of hormones and attitude.  I have learned so much about life from him.  When I was blessed with him in November of 2000, I thought I had our lives planned to the letter.  My boy showed me not to plan, and take things one step at a time.  Even though he did not partake in the life I planned for us, he took me down a road of discovery, understanding and taught me patience.  My son has helped make me a better person.  And you think that YOU are doing the teaching as a parent; not the case.  He is my heart.
  9. I love doing things for others. – I love to make others smile.  Sometimes I take it too far (see #5), but when I love, I love big.  Never underestimate that one small gesture that can change a persons day!
  10. I am not perfect. – I may speak about my ideals and argue points about certain topics, but please do not take me as someone who thinks she is on a pedestal looking down on everyone.  All of my beliefs boil down to one simple truth: treat people how you want to be treated.  The golden rule.  I get angry for others.  I get angry for the lack of common sense in this world.  But in no way does that mean I feel as though I am better than anyone else.  I am a person, flawed, just like you.
One thought on “10 Day Blogging Challenge – Day 1 (For Me)

  1. Pingback: 10 Day Blogging Challenge – Day 2 |

Leave a Reply

